1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

About Halal

  • Halal or Helal, like the Turkish Muslims say, it's Arabic. The linguistic meaning of Halal is "the Allowed, the Permitted".

    As term of Islam, Halal encompasses all things and actions that is allowed, permitted in Islam and what is Islamic compliant.For adherence of halal standards the Muslims expected reward from Allah Ta’ala, both in the afterlife and in this life.

    Haram is just the opposite of halal and means linguistically "the Prohibited, the Non-Allowed".

    In return to Halal, Haram encompasses in Islam all the things that Islam has forbidden the Muslims.

    For non-compliance with the Haram-Standards is punishment expected from Allah (ta'ala) both on the day of judgement and in this world.

    Contamination with the enumerated Haram products must be excluded at any time.

    Halal in relationtofood

    In a period of 23 years Hz Muhammad (SAV, blessings and peace be upon him) revealed the Qur'an, the word of Allah Teala. In It we find the whole true faith and description how it should be lived practically.

    Allah Teala, the Almighty says in SuretulBakara, verse 168:

    "O ye people! Eat of what is on earth, lawful and good; and do not follow the footsteps of the Satan, for he is to you an avowed enemy."

    And in SuretulMaide, verse 88 Allah (Teala) says :

    "And eat of what Allah has given you: Halal and pure. And fear Allah, in Whom you believe."

    Since ALLAH Ta'ala created everything on this earth for human, the Islamic rule is:

    "Basically, all things are halal. Haram are only the things and actions that are classified as such under the Islamic Sharia."

    We can deduce the food maxims of Islam as follows:

    "All the food, which is not declared as Haram through Kur'an and Sunnah, is Halal."

    Allah Teala announces in SuretulMaide, verse 3, what is banned:

    "Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars); (forbidden) also is the division (of meat) by raffling with arrows: that is impiety. This day have those who reject faith given up all hope of your religion: Yet fear them not but fear Me. This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favor upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion.

    But ifanyisforcedbyhunger, withnoinclinationtotransgression, Allah isindeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful."

    As can be seen from the verse, Islam demands from Muslims to observe certain regulations concerning food, drink and the slaughter of animals:

    “The foodstuff must be allowed – that is, it must be halal.”

    As applied to foodstuffs, halal means that the product is suitable for consumption by all Muslims.

    According to the imams of the four major schools of law (mezhap) can be summed up the verse and therefore the Haram-Food as follows:

    • Pork or porkparts,

    • Meat or parts of perished animals,

    • Meat or parts of predators with fangs and claws,

    • All meat products of animals, which are allowed in Islam but which have been not slaughtered according to Islamic ritual,

    • Flowing blood and

    • Everything what is intoxicant (drugs, alcoholic drinks, etc.)

    • and all that is contaminated with above listed.

     

Supporting Institutions

Memberships